Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Shabby Chic Desk Organizer

I altered this fun wooden desk organizer for a friend of mine! I wanted it to be in the traditional shabby chicness of colors! I started first by using acrylic paint mixed with sand to paint all the edges of the organizer. I then used plain typing paper to makes the patterns of the box and used these patterns to cut out my design paper by Blue Fern Studios (Garden collection). I used lots of Prima goodness including the new collections of Cartographer, Something Blue and Stationers Desk.I also used Kaiser Craft wooden flourishes to decorate this piece. Because the back center piece had an arch to it, I knew immediately that I wanted to make a fun peekaboo in the center. I used 2 pieces of single sided paper by Prima and cut down the center and sewed them together. I used water to wet down the edges and a heat tool to help curl them back and keep them firmly in place.  Then I decorated the center, adding a Prima zipper pull to appear as if the center was being zipped open. Super cool technique! I also used the Blue Fern Garden paper to make a "tag" card. The paper is sturdy enough to create the tag without having to add extra weight. I fussy cut elements from the collection...the words (which I used foam dots to make pop out): and to make the pocket for the tag, added tons of flowers and Kaisercraft wooden flourishes and a Prima angel!   Here's the pics and the links to the products I used will be below the pics:

Here's the organizer:









Here's the card:







Discount Paper Crafts links to products used that are still in stock:
Blue Fern Studios Garden Collection paper: http://www.etsy.com/listing/174945026/blue-fern-studios-12x12-paper-blue-fern?ref=shop_home_active_1&ga_search_query=blue%2BFern%2Bstudios
Prima Cartographer  paper: http://www.etsy.com/listing/178132581/prima-cartographer-collection-12x12?ref=shop_home_active_1&ga_search_query=cartographer
Prima Something Blue  paper: http://www.etsy.com/listing/178369822/prima-something-blue-collection-6x6?ref=shop_home_active_1&ga_search_query=Something%2Bblue
Prima Stationers Desk A4 paper: http://www.etsy.com/listing/178246559/prima-stationers-desk-collection-a4?ref=shop_home_active_5&ga_search_query=Stationers%2BDesk
Kaisercraft Wooden Flourish standing birdcage: http://www.etsy.com/listing/153141507/kaisercraft-wood-flourishes-standing?ref=shop_home_active_22&ga_search_query=Kaisercraft%2Bwood
Kaisercraft Wooden Flourish Fancy Corners: http://www.etsy.com/listing/126509604/kaisercraft-wood-flourishes-fancy?ref=shop_home_active_7&ga_search_query=Kaisercraft%2Bwood
Kaisercraft Wooden Flourish Oval Window: http://www.etsy.com/listing/153178332/kaisercraft-wood-flourishes-oval-window?ref=shop_home_active_13&ga_search_query=Kaisercraft%2Bwood
Prima Junkyard Findings typo bulbs: http://www.etsy.com/listing/105732599/prima-junkyard-findings-typo-bulbs-2?ref=shop_home_active_1&ga_search_query=Prima%2Btypo%2Bbulbs
Prima Junkyard Findings heart gears: http://www.etsy.com/listing/161781105/prima-ingvild-bolme-junkyard-findings?ref=shop_home_active_11&ga_search_query=Prima%2Bjunkyard%2Bfindings
Prima Ingvild Bolme Heart with Resin corners: http://www.etsy.com/listing/161776401/prima-ingvild-bolme-heart-resin-with?ref=shop_home_active_14&ga_search_query=prima%2Bresin
Prima Resin Angels: http://www.etsy.com/listing/181168320/prima-resin-angels-no-1-573478?ref=shop_home_active_4&ga_search_query=prima%2Bresin
Stationers Desk flowers: http://www.etsy.com/listing/178247695/prima-stationers-desk-collection-flowers?ref=shop_home_active_7&ga_search_query=Stationers%2BDesk
Fabscraps Brass Embellishments mini handles: http://www.etsy.com/listing/184792076/fabscraps-brass-embellishments-mini?ref=shop_home_active_11
Fabscraps Brass Embellishments Keyholes and Keys: http://www.etsy.com/listing/176839745/fabscraps-brass-embellishments-keyhole?ref=shop_home_active_8
Stationers Desk ATC: http://www.etsy.com/listing/178250139/prima-stationers-desk-collection-6x4-atc?ref=shop_home_active_6&ga_search_query=Stationers%2BDesk
Thanks for sharing your time with me!

4 comments:

  1. This is so beautiful!! I love the shabby chic look to it! Everything about it is stunning!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Amazingly Gorgeous! Oh to be a little mouse in your studio... A girl can dream.
    Big Hugs,
    Sue Ann :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. oh so pretty - love this!!!
    Carla

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice post,it's very informative.i found the best information.I updated my knowledge with this blog.it can help me to crack GIS jobs in Hyderabad.

    ReplyDelete